Hungary Government and Political Parties

According to politicsezine, Hungary is bordered by seven countries – Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia and Austria. Slovakia is situated to the north of Hungary and shares a border with it that stretches for 676 kilometers. Slovakia is a landlocked country with an area of 49 035 square kilometers. It has a population of 5.4 million people and its capital city is Bratislava. Ukraine lies to the northeast of Hungary; their border spans 676 kilometers. Ukraine is the second largest country in Europe with an area of 603 528 square kilometers. It has a population of 44 million people and its capital city is Kiev. Romania borders Hungary to the east and south; their shared border measures 443 kilometers in length. Romania has an area of 238 391 square kilometers making it the ninth largest country in Europe by size. It has a population of 19 million people and its capital city is Bucharest.

Government of Hungary

According to Programingplease, Hungary is a parliamentary republic, with a multi-party system. The Prime Minister of Hungary is the head of government, and the President of Hungary is the head of state. The Prime Minister is elected by the National Assembly and serves as leader of the majority party or coalition. The President is elected by popular vote every five years, and may serve up to two consecutive terms. The government is composed of several ministries and departments, each responsible for different aspects of governance in Hungary.

The legislative branch of government in Hungary is known as the National Assembly. It consists of 199 members who are elected to four-year terms through a combination of single-member districts and proportional representation. The National Assembly passes laws and approves budgets, which are then signed by the President and become law after publication in the official gazette. In addition to its legislative responsibilities, it also elects members to various positions within the executive branch, such as ministers and deputy ministers.

The judicial branch in Hungary operates independently from any other branches within government. It includes courts at both national and local levels that adjudicate civil cases, criminal cases, labor disputes and more. Judges are appointed by Parliament for life terms until retirement age or removal from office due to misconduct or poor performance. This ensures that justice remains impartial regardless of political influences or changes in power within government.

Recent Heads of Government of Hungary

Victor Orban has been the head of government in Hungary since 2010. He is a member of the Fidesz-Hungarian Civic Alliance and was elected as the Prime Minister for a third consecutive term in April 2018. He is known for his commitment to conservative values, such as family and nation, and he is noted for his anti-immigration stance. During his tenure, he has taken steps to limit the powers of the Hungarian Constitutional Court and to reduce press freedom. Orban’s government has also implemented controversial measures regarding taxation, foreign investments, and public procurement. His policies have been criticized by some European Union officials who have accused him of undermining democracy in Hungary. The European Parliament even voted to trigger Article 7 proceedings against Hungary in September 2018 due to its perceived breaches of EU values.

Orban’s predecessor was Gordon Bajnai who served as Prime Minister from 2009-2010. He was from the Hungarian Socialist Party (MSZP) and was appointed after Ferenc Gyurcsany resigned from office due to a series of unpopular austerity measures that his government had implemented during the economic crisis. Bajnai was tasked with stabilizing the Hungarian economy through a series of reforms including cutting public spending, raising taxes, and introducing a new flat tax system. Although initially popular with some segments of society, Bajnai’s policies were met with widespread criticism by other groups who felt that they were too harsh or would not be effective in improving their economic situation. In April 2010 he announced that he would not be running for re-election so that someone else could take on the challenge of restoring Hungary’s economy.

Major Political Parties in Hungary

The two major political parties in Hungary are Fidesz and the Hungarian Socialist Party (MSZP). Fidesz is a right-wing, nationalist party that has been in power since 2010. It is led by Prime Minister Viktor Orbán and is focused on preserving traditional values, maintaining a strong national defense, and reducing immigration. The MSZP, on the other hand, is a center-left party founded in 1989 as the successor to the communist Hungarian Socialist Workers’ Party. It is led by Bertalan Tóth and focuses on social justice, economic equality, and environmental protection. The party also supports increased cooperation with other European countries.

In addition to these two major parties, there are several smaller parties that have representation in parliament. These include Jobbik (far-right), Democratic Coalition (liberal), Politics Can Be Different (green), Momentum Movement (centrist), Together Party (centrist) and Dialogue for Hungary (liberal). Each of these parties has its own distinct platform which appeals to different segments of the population. For example, Jobbik focuses on protecting Hungarian culture from foreign influences while Politics Can Be Different emphasizes environmental protection and renewable energy sources. Momentum promotes social justice initiatives such as free healthcare and education for all citizens while Dialogue for Hungary advocates for more transparent government policies.

Hungary Government

You may also like...